Congress’ candidates elected in top two posts in Biratnagar

आइतवार, असार २५, २०७४ | ०९:१९:०९ am मा प्रकाशित

Biratnagar, July 9: Nepali Congress candidates have been elected to the top two posts of the Biratnagar Metropolitan City in the second phase of the local level polls.

NC’s mayoral candidate, Bhim Parajuli, garnered 23, 031 votes against 17, 322 votes obtained by his closest contestant Binod Kumar Dhakal from CPN (UML) to win the election. Umesh Yadav from Federal Socialist Forum Nepal trailed behind with 14, 958 votes under his belt.  Bhim_and_Indu_Acharya-810x422

In the deputy mayor’s post, Indira Karki garnered 20,146 votes to win the election. Her closest contestant, Namita Neupane, from CPN (Maoist Centre) mustered 11, 524 votes. Nepal Loktantrik Forum’s Suchi Chaudhary trailed behind with 10, 536 votes.
In 19 wards of the city, NC has been elected in ward no 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9 and 16. The Federal Socialist Forum candidates have been elected in ward no 12, 13, 14, 15, 17 and 18 whereas CPN (UML) registered victories in ward no 2, 5 and 11.

The CPN (Maoist Centre) has been elected to head ward no 6 whereas an independent candidate has been elected the chair of ward no 10. RSS