Mahara elected Speaker unopposed

शनिबार, फाल्गुन २६, २०७४ | ०३:४५:१९ pm मा प्रकाशित

Kathmandu, March 10 (RSS): CPN (Maoist Centre) leader Krishna Bahadur Mahara has been elected the Speaker of the House of Representatives unanimously.

The meeting of the HoR today announced the election of Mahara to the post of Speaker as per Rule 6 (3) of the Interim Rules of Procedures, 2074.

He was the only candidate to file nominations for the post that took place on Friday. At the meeting today, UML leader and former Speaker Subash Chandra Nembang proposed the name of Mahara which was seconded by CPN-MC’s leader Dev Gurung.

Nepali Congress leader Dr Minendra Rijal also extended support to the proposal, while appealing him to take all sides into confidence while performing his duties.

The meeting today was chaired by eldest member Mahantha Thakur. The next meeting of the HoR will take place on March 11. As per the agenda, Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli will seek a vote of confidence in the meeting.